Christmas Deal

Phew! This month has been insanely busy with all kinds of festivities and events, but I’ve enjoyed it all.  Intensely. In between finishing one thing and preparing for the next, I attempt my best to remind myself about why I’m investing energy into what I’m doing. In the midst of all the busyness we often forget what we were trying to accomplish in the first place. It’s what happens to Christmas. We do so much for it that we forget about it.  For a few years now, I have decided to celebrate Christmas different than the conventional, overly materialistic way of celebrating it. Christmas time always brings a desire to share and reunite with family, and other things that are suppose to make us feel all warm and cheerful. When I think of these things I can’t help but ask myself if Jesus felt the same way renouncing his crown and stepping down to earth. I have a hard time about the idea of God thinking of Christmas as people running frantically in a mall trying buy slippers and skateboards when trying to reconciliate humanity back to Him. You see, if God was giving up his son to die for a group of well-behaved, selfless and uncorrupted people the deal wouldn’t look as uneven. But he paid for the debt when we failed to hold our end of the deal, but even this analogy is incorrect because God didn’t owe us anything. There was not debt for Him to pay.  I’m not attempting to launch an anti-Christmas campaign, but I’m all for redefining our ways of life. So bring on the holiday cookie baking and the family gathering to celebrate one of heaven’s saddest days but humanity’s best.

Paul wrote, “He had equal status with God but didn’t think so much of himself that he had to cling to the advantages of that status no matter what.” Philipians 2:6 (The Message) This might not be the most commonly used verse for Christmas. It doesn’t talk about the baby or the manger, but about Jesus setting aside his crown as king to carry the cross of servant. So Christmas is all about the uneven deal that we might have not signed up for, but that we are in. It will always be. But I’ve never been so grateful to be at the receiving end of gift giving.

Merry Christmas

Leave a Reply

